Live LAGOM Shopping Trip

On Monday 12 December 2016 at 5pm, I met Live LAGOM Project Leader Richard Coates at IKEA Gateshead for my much anticipated personal shopping trip.  Before setting off round the store, Richard checked over my shopping list – I have list OCD so had spent quite a lot of time on it, wanting to ensure I was spending wisely and I had each item colour coded by department so that I knew what I needed to get where….think woman on a mission!  Richard and I chatted as we went round the store and he offered advice and I made a few minor adjustments to my list, adding on a few extras.   Before starting our shop, I had swiped my IKEA Family Card and printed off a voucher giving me £5 off a £40 spend.  My items totalled £339.60, after my voucher and £300 gift card were deducted I had just £34.60 to pay!!!!  Now that’s my kind of Ikea shopping trip!

I purchased…..

Ledberg multi colour light strips to light the gaming areas of my boys’ bedroom at their suggestion.

An array of Ryet LED lightbulbs – I opted for 600 lumen in all rooms barring the kitchen where I opted for 1000 lumen bulbs as it’s North facing and quite dark and existing bulbs are dim and shadowy.

Koppla B27 to E27 converters so that we can use the above LED bulbs in our existing fittings

Koppla sockets with USB ports for 4 rooms – with my existing timers these will stop the current practice of all night charging of phone/tablets and should also improve cable management.

A Signum socket holder for the Koppla socket – I got one to try out initially and if it works for us, will purchase them for all the Koppla sockets.

Storhogen battery charger  plus a selection of Ladda AA and AAA rechargeable batteries (for my vast array of LED candles, LED Christmas lights and not forgetting Wii remotes, TV remotes, torches etc).

Kuggis box to turn into a ‘Use First’ box in the fridge to stop the kids wasting food (yogurts and the like).

Pressa hangers which I can use on washing line or hooked over my radiators rather than using my tumble dryer unnecessarily.

Fniss waste bins for 2 bedrooms

Korken jars to keep dried pasta fresh in cupboards

Bellahare water bottles – I was very impressed with the freebie in the Induction packed lunch bag.  We go thru’ 15 bottles of water each week when kids are at school so will not only save money but we will also reduce recycling waste by using them.

Stabil insert – this will allow me to cook different veg in one pan rather than using 2 or 3 pans thus saving energy.

Skvalpa long handled dustpan and brush – this will save me having to get the Dyson out multiple times each day to clear up dog hairs on kitchen and hall floors that drive me nuts!

Dimpa storage bags to put summer quilts in to go in loft freeing up space in our wardrobe.

Kallax 4×4 unit, Linnmon table top, Adils legs and Linmonn connectors – these items were not on product list but it was agreed this would be an acceptable purchase as it’s going in my daughter’s room and the considerably better storage and desk will allow her to use her sewing machine to make cushion covers, upcycle clothing etc, rather than being stuck in her cluttered cupboard.

Bitrade unit and Komplement rail – these items were not on product list and were purchased with our own money – they will help us turn a cluttered cupboard into a workable wardrobe for my daughter.

Typical for IKEA, £300 went an awful long way.  There were lots of other things that would possibly benefit us in our attempts to live more sustainably and we will definitely look at purchasing those ourselves in the coming months.

I’ll let you know what I think of my purchases when I’ve had chance to use them.

Until next time…….

Leave a Reply

